11 Oct

A full-house of 12 teams has entered the WBOPCA Classic Builders Reserve Grade competition for the 2022-23 season.

The dozen WBOPCA Reserve Grade contenders, will kick off their season long chase of the trophies on offer, over the next two Saturdays (15th & 22nd October 2022) with the razzle dazzle action of T20 cricket.

The traditional WBOPCA Reserve First Round competition begins on the 29th October and concludes on the 28th January 2023. The full round-robin title decider, is the lead-in to the Classic Builders Championship (top six) and Plate (bottom six).

There is plenty of pressure in every round of the First Round title race, as teams fight to make the top six, who will contest the  2023 WBOPCA Reserve Grade Championship. The Reserve Championship/Plate qualifying, runs from 11th February-11th March, with semi-finals on 18th March and the title deciders on 29th March 2023.

An extra edge is provided in the First Round and Championship regular season with the Don Warner Challenge trophy at stake. Otumoetai Cadets will take the challenge prize into the first stanza of the First Round competition.

With the challenge prize up for grabs, both home and away, the Don Warner prize changed hands six times last season, with Cadets taking the trophy from United Indians in week sixteen. Cadets then held on to the trophy for three further weeks of the regular season to take the challenge prize into the winter break.

Cadets victory over United Indians in week sixteen, was just the entrée to the 2022 WBOPCA Classic Builders Championship Final in late March. In a dramatic encounter, where ball dominated bat, United Indians batted first and were bowled out for just 92. Amrit Singh stood out like a beacon with 49 runs. The Tauranga Domain based side were made to fight hard for victory, losing eight wickets on the way.

Mount Maunganui, will also have a target on their back for the other WBOPCA Reserve Grade title contenders, after taking out the WBOPCA First Round and T20 competitions.

A new format will see the former WBOPCA B Grade standalone competition, replaced by WBOPCA Senior Division One, Two and Three competitions. The three new competitions, have been brought about by a dramatic increase in senior grassroots player numbers.

Promotion/Relegation, in all three divisions after the First Round and Championship competitions, will ensure that teams find their place in a cricket environment that fits their sides aspirations.

2022-23 WBOPCA Classic Builders Reserve Grade Entries

Mount Maunganui, Greerton, Cadets, Tauranga Boys College, United Indians, Katikati, Aquinas College, Baaj Sports, Papamoa, Papamoa Kings, Te Puke, Hawks.


2021-22 WBOPCA Classic Builders Reserve Grade Titles

Championship             Otumoetai Cadets

First Round                 Mount Maunganui

T20                              Mount Maunganui